WALOA is proud to recognize members of the organization through three awards.

The Sheckells Award is presented annually to the Adult and Student members of WALOA who, through his laudable character, skill in officiating and dedication and commitment, has greatly contributed to the advancement of lacrosse in the Greater Washington, DC Metropolitan area and who truly personifies the spirit and love of the game of lacrosse exemplified by the late Tom Sheckells.

The McCarthy-Schwartz Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to members who show extraordinary service to the organization. The award is named after Homer Schwartz and John McCarthy, who were lifetime contributors to the game of lacrosse as administrators, athletes, and officials.

The Bill Harvey Sportsmanship Award is presented annually to an organization that demonstrates sportsmanship.